Monday, July 1, 2013

Public Assistance Approved for 16 Counties Impacted by May Storms

OKLAHOMA CITY – Governor Mary Fallin today announced that the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has approved public assistance for 16 counties hard hit by last month’s storms. Fallin had submitted a request for assistance in those counties on Wednesday, June 26.

The designation delivers federal funding to assist municipalities, counties, schools and rural electric cooperatives with eligible infrastructure repairs, debris removal and costs associated with responding to the tornadoes, straight-line winds, flooding and severe storms that occurred between May 18 and June 2.

Counties granted public assistance today include Atoka, Canadian, Coal, Hughes, Latimer, Nowata, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Pittsburg, Pushmataha and Seminole. Additional aid was also granted for Cleveland, Lincoln, McClain, Oklahoma and Pottawatomie counties, which were already provided public assistance related to debris removal and emergency response costs.

In these counties, the storms resulted in an estimated $40 million in uninsured infrastructure losses, and debris removal and response costs. Other counties can be added to the declaration as additional damages are identified.

Individual assistance is already granted for nine counties for damages to homes and businesses related to the storms.

No comments:

Post a Comment